Step Into the Gap: CAFOD gap year volunteer Eleanor Margetts shares her experience

Each year, CAFOD offers young people between the ages of 18 and 30 the once in a lifetime opportunity to gain an indepth experience of CAFOD’s work, both here in the UK, and in some of the world’s poorest communities. Eleanor Margetts, who took part in the programme this year, created the video below to share her experience:

“I’ve had an amazing journey this year working with CAFOD on the Gap Year programme, and am excited to be able to share part of my story with you!” said Eleanor. “I have spent this year experiencing so many incredible aspects of the work that CAFOD does, both in the UK and overseas. I have had a chance to develop my passion for social justice, and to inspire others through working with young people. My trip to Sierra Leone earlier this year gave me a life changing insight into the ways in which people’s lives are affected by the work that CAFOD does.”

Even though her gap year is coming to a close, Eleanor doesn’t plan to let her good work with CAFOD end there:

“I have been inspired by all of the people I met both in the UK and in Sierra Leone, so I will continue to support CAFOD in any way I can…starting with running the Cardiff Half Marathon with them this October!”

You can read more about Eleanor’s Step Into the Gap experience at cafodsouthwales.wordpress.com/eleanor, and can sponsor her half marathon effort at her JustGiving page here.

If you’re aged between 18 and 30 and looking to make a real difference with your gap year, apply for CAFOD’s Step Into the Gap programme now! Find out more about what your year will involve, and download an application pack at cafod.org.uk/stepintothegap.

Leave a Reply

