Voices from Syria: Hoda

Hoda
“In Syria, no one knew who our enemies were. In Homs, the streets were filled with dead bodies, some beheaded, who remained there for several days. I learned that one of my students had been raped for six days and then murdered. I left on the day I saw a woman killed before my eyes. We have suffered a lot.

“We are safe here in Lebanon, but we have left everything behind us. We live in very difficult conditions. The days are all the same: in the morning I get up early, the children go to school and I go to my brother’s tent, which is more comfortable than mine, to warm up and cook.

“My husband tries to find work, depending on to the weather. If it rains, it’s impossible; otherwise, he has a chance. Most of the time, he has been farming potatoes for $10 per day. In Homs, he was an electrician and earned a good living.

“Up to thirty people sleep in the same tent. In mine, there are seven of us. It is wet and we have no heating. Before, I had a flat with three rooms, a real kitchen, a washing machine… My life was easy.

“Here there’s no toilet, and we have barely enough to eat. Every three days, we will pick up a gallon of water from a nearby farm. With this gallon of water, we have to do everything: drink, wash ourselves, wash our vegetables and wash our clothes.

“If the war stops, we will return to Homs without hesitation, to sleep in our own beds. I hope to see a free Homs again one day.”

Hoda is one of more than a million Syrian refugees who have fled the country to escape fighting. We’re working in Lebanon and Turkey to provide food, shelter and relief supplies. Please support CAFOD’s Syria Crisis appeal.

Leave a Reply

