Tony’s Blog – Departing for Brazil

Tony Sheen writes:

Monday, 11 July 2011:

I‘m just about to board the plane to Brazil to visit CAFOD partners and the people they work alongside, I will be representing CAFOD supporters in England and Wales and I am honoured and privileged to have this opportunity.

Many of us know the Brazil of greater footballers such as Pele and beautiful beaches.

My previous visit in 2006 highlighted a country with a huge disparity of wealth between rich and poor and a struggle for land rights and justice or the poor and the indigenous Brazilians.

Over the next two weeks my colleague Sarah and I will visit CAFOD partners and witness their work alongside the poor tackling poverty and injustice both in the City of São Paulo and in the Amazon Region.

Tony about to board the plane

 

I hope that you will follow my blog.  Click here to read more.

Leave a Reply

