Kenya trip: Steve and Stevie

Stevie

Steve Jones, St Columba’s Teacher writes >>

It’s been a great privilege accompanying Theo and Emet on this trip to Kenya. They have done the school and CAFOD proud as ambassadors here. I’ve also been very impressed with the way in which they have responded to the incredible poverty that they have seen, and the human connection they have made with new friends in the slum of Korogocho.

They’ve asked me to say something on their blog about little Stevie, a ten-year old boy who attached himself to me when he discovered not only that my name was also Steve, but that I was a Canadian citizen. As it turns out, Stevie is a fan of the Toronto Maple Leafs, and he proudly wore his tattered Maple Leafs shirt the day I met him.

Stevie rarely left my side the whole time we were in Korogocho. He lead me around St John’s Centre by the hand any chance he had, and managed to insert himself into the background or foreground of just about every picture I took. When it was time to leave, he ran away and only came back as we were getting into the vehicles to leave. He asked me for a biscuit because he hadn’t eaten anything since the day before.

Read all of the Kenya trip blogs…

Leave a Reply

